Just a Thoughtless Feeling

AVATAR ADI DA SAMRAJ: What are you referring to when you say “I”?
DEVOTEE: The totality of my sense of myself, and all my experiences as well.
AVATAR ADI DA SAMRAJ: But who is the “my”, the “me” behind the “my”? Is there a someone other than all those experiences that are remembered?
DEVOTEE: Yes, yes. I guess it is a sense of essential self, myself. It even seems to be not really definable.
AVATAR ADI DA SAMRAJ: Right now you are referring to it as an “it”. But is there a someone other than all those thoughts and memories and such?
DEVOTEE: Yes.
AVATAR ADI DA SAMRAJ: So what is that?
DEVOTEE: It is basically just a feeling, a thoughtless feeling.
AVATAR ADI DA SAMRAJ: Yes, yes. You are a thoughtless feeling. It is so, isn’t it?
DEVOTEE: Yes.

Small tidbit from an amazing discourse

Leave a Reply

